The Haberfield Honour Roll is a large wooden structure consisting of seven main panels framed by intricately carved columns, created to honour locals who fought and died during the First World War – 430 names are listed on the 5 central panels, including those of 4 nursing sisters and 48 men who died in service to their Country. It was originally unveiled in 1918 in the vestibule of the School of Arts Building in Haberfield, which now houses the Haberfield Library. The restoration was made possible thanks to funding assistance from the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
Ashfield Council approached ICS to restore the Haberfield Honour Roll in December 2014. Over the years the wood had been scratched and chipped in various places, the surface finish had become dull and the modern varnish coating had darkened with age, making the text difficult to read. Certain areas had also started to delaminate.
Almost a century old, the solid jarrah doors welcoming visitors into Canberra's Old Parliament House are an integral part of not only the building but national heritage, bearing witness to evolving eras of politics and being the physical backdrop of iconic moments in Australian history. Designed in 1924 by Commonwealth Chief Architect John Smith Murdoch, the doors were in place...
Overview Founded in 1886/1887 in Cairns, the Lit Sung Goong (LSG) Temple fell into disrepair in the 1950s and was dismantled in 1964. Its collection of various Chinese artefacts was salvaged by the Chinese community. Cairns & District Chinese Association...